ERROR 404: Soul Not Found

via Daily Prompt: Precipice

As I came home today, my mom handed me a postcard that was addressed to me. It seemed very odd that someone had mailed me and not just sent an email. Very curious, I dismissed my original plans of sleeping (I’m very lazy you see 😜), and in stead sat down to read it right away. It was sent from Bhutan by a friend who was visiting the country!

It had been a long time since I had written or received a postcard or a letter. In fact I have never actually posted anything. We had had a telephone for as long as I can remember.

But I vividly recollect attempting to write a letter to my friend which I never got around to post. I was so excited about getting all the punctuations right and to get the fast streaming thoughts all sorted out and penned down in the right order that in the end the paper was much torn in places (because I had erased too enthusiastically).

You see, letter writing is truly an art. To pen down your thoughts and expressions, touching upon every topic you want to talk about and unfolding them in a systematic way is not an easy job! And mind you, you have to keep a legible hand all through. Plus to do all this without the sweet blessings of “Backspace”, “Delete” or “Cut, Copy, or Paste”!

You have to get it right in the first go. Now of course you can always rewrite on a different paper, but let’s be serious we won’t take those extra efforts.

And that’s what I think is the problem with our generation! We won’t take a slightest bit of effort or we don’t feel the need to be right. We always have too many chances to get things done. We can always edit!

In fact we edit so much that everything about us becomes unrecognizable, becomes that what’s “trending”. We change our minds too soon and we judge too soon!

Today sadly, most of our interactions are via the social medias only. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a blessing and we can keep in touch with so many people! But I think somewhere in all this, we are losing our personal touch. I think we are using our social medias a tad bit liberally, posting our personal life all over it for everyone to see (we have so many randomly added “friends”)! We are more interested in Facebook chat , messenger, WhatsApp etc. than a face to face chat with a friend.

That postcard made me want to go back to the old days. The days my grandfather so fondly talks about. I want to make an extra effort, I want to walk that extra mile and meet someone than just talking with them on WhatsApp. I want to have a peaceful dinner and not fuss about uploading a photo here or there.
Watching a movie used to be a group activity, a family affair. But today we are missing out on those opportunities too. We end up seeing a movie alone in the super crowded public transports.

I want to go back to the old days when things were much simpler and people more genuine. To a time where not being able to converse in English was not looked down upon, when a passing comment didn’t flare up into a controversial issue, when people had a sense of social responsibility and were more accommodating (however, we are definitely more receptive of certain issues today).

We have become so individualistic yet we lack our own company. There is so much chatter around us that we have forgotten to listen to our self. I think we are scared of being left alone with our own selves, with our thoughts.

Constantly plugged into some device or the other, we are loosing our creativity and innovative imagination. We are in-touch with people yet are so removed from the society. We have become so self-centred that we have stopped thinking about the consequences of our actions and words. We are living a life of constant paradoxes!

It’s like we are standing on a Precipice of getting lost in this robotic world. Our lives being constantly moulded into all things that are cool and trending. I think it’s time to do some soul searching, look in before it’s too late. Before we get an “OOPS ERROR 404: SOUL NOT FOUND” message from our bodies!

I have decided to spend some time with myself and do stuff that I truly love, be more comfortable with the real me. Thin fat, beautiful shabby, whatever however, just me! No editing!

 

 

© Ashwini Nawathe, Kaleidoscope of My Life

All Rights Reserved

One thought on “ERROR 404: Soul Not Found

Leave a Reply

