A Lullaby

via Daily Prompt: Descend

It’s that time of the year again! Mangoes, jack-fruits, plums, ice lollies and lazy afternoons welcome me in my sweet little village. This time around I plan to spend as much of my time sitting in the mango grooves by the river and in the temples tucked in the hills far away.

I never get tired of visiting my mama’s house (maternal uncle). The calming stillness of the sedentary life of the village is always welcoming when you live in a fast paced, maddening city like Mumbai. And as always, this beautiful house and the landscape around has inspired me. Here’s a peek into the serene and quiet life of konkan (coastal Maharashtra)!

 

A Lullaby

The sun travels across the skies very slow

Finally the moon Descends spreading its silvery glow

Twisting and turning the rivers flow

Chasing the bouncy winds that blow

 

The winds drop down to a gentle whisper

Making the cool fresh air even more crisper

Fog on the river drifts away

Reflecting the moon happy and gay

 

Queer silence hangs untampered

Nothing is heard then, just the trees whisper

Quietly a sweet lullaby the night sings

Until the far away temple bell rings…..

 

© Ashwini Nawathe, Kaleidoscope of My Life

All Rights Reserved

 

15 thoughts on “A Lullaby

  1. Lovely nostalgic feel here Ashwini; that drips in the lullaby and your opening paragraphs too.

    Mind you I saw the prompt word and was instantly back in my world of fantasy horror thinking “Oooh, I like that one!” lol

    It does end enticingly too

    Until the far away temple bell rings…..

    For what? a wedding, a ritual, a sacrifice, a service?

    Ok I have it as a haunting elegy of the past now… a place or memory stilled by the passage of time and a lullaby.

    Great post 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

